B&A- cellblock edition

Been working on photos from the trip to West Virginia State Penitentiary some more this weekend.  This is one of my favorites.  When I entered this section, I hoped I could capture the way the light was coming out of the cells… so here’s my attempt.

Of course, I was in a really tight space, so the first thing I had to do (after the lens profile correction in Lightroom, which corrected the barrel distortion) is straighten and crop the image.

The color seemed to bright and cheerful, not the atmosphere that I saw or felt in the penitentiary, so I used the B&W and color overlay technique from before.   I used a pretty harsh B&W conversion with the clarity and sharpness slid way up.

Opened both versions in GIMP and put the color version over the B&W, combined them with an Overlay at about 40%.  And this is what the final version looks like…

Any thoughts?

