B&A- Rusty old fence

For this week’s B&A, I have chosen to show you how I processed a fence photo that I took in the Beard-Green Cemetery in Dawes Arboretum in Newark, Ohio.   The cemetery is quite small, maybe 50 graves are so (if you want to see more of the cemetery, please check my previous post).  This fence surrounds one of the larger monuments.   Three sides are still standing perfectly upright, but of course, I find this angle of the broken down fence, overgrown with life, to be much more interesting.

The day was overcast and rainy, in fact I took this shot about 10 minutes before it started to pour down rain.  Overall, I feel it’s a bit dark and you don’t really get a sense of the nice rusted texture of the iron and I needed to crop up the sides slightly just to clean up the composition.  I tried a few Lightroom presets, but eventually went with Sarah-Ji’s Gingko.

To finish it off, I really wanted it to be a touch more golden and I love using textures to give some subtle depth and well, texture, to the photo.  I wanted to enhance that old feel, so I added the “Ancient Urban” texture from French Kiss textures (it’s a freebie when you sign up!).  To get this look, I duplicated the photo layer and sandwiched the texture between them.  The texture was an blended as an Overlay at 60-70% and while the top photo layer was blended at Soft Light 80-90%.  And here’s what I ended up with…

6 thoughts on “B&A- Rusty old fence

Any thoughts?

